movie: Black Swan – 3.5/5 *can see*

.
Certain plot elements discussed but no spoilers

.
Natalie Portman (role of Nina Sayers) is perfect in this role. But it’s not a psychological thriller that we haven’t seen before. From the moment Nina saw her own evil reflection in the subway, it became obvious that this was going to be a me-vs-me kind of schizo thriller. So it is really fitting that Winona Ryder who stars in that other schizo drama ‘Girl Interrupted’, plays the aging faded ballerina.

.

 

 

.

.

.

.
I was kinda disappointed that Nina took so goddamn long to metamorphosise into the Black Swan. And c’mon, hands up who didn’t see the subplot coming about the mother, coach and Lily? I’m also disappointed that the story shied away from showing any actual acts of sabotage or manipulation between the ballerinas. I suppose they didn’t want to detract from the main plot but I felt that would have added something extra in explaining why Nina is so paranoid about the other dancers.

Although predictable, it is still enjoyable because the story is fast moving, there is excellent cinematography and acting from all. And you know how anal I am about acting. Portman is a joy to watch as well as the always chirpy Mila Kunis.

I’m slightly irritated about news that Portman is pregnant from Benjamin Millepied who plays the principal male dancer in the movie. It totally distracted me when he appeared in scenes and I kept watching for chemistry between the two dance leads.

I rate this movie a *Can See* 3.5/5. It’s good but way too predictable for me. And I’m not sure I like this style of shock-a-fest thriller. So far, A Single Man is still my Must See movie of the year. I don’t know who the Oscar contenders for next year are going to be but they love to reward “war” roles or “broken” roles and Portman is definitely going to get some love.

Leave a comment